Folders within Arc/Studio

Having the ability to organize uploaded video content within Arc would be a very helpful addition. Right now, videos appear in the order in which they are uploaded. In order to use the same videos again (future years), having folders to organize our content would make everything much easier to find. Thank you for considering!

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas Studio

For more information, please read through the Studio Release Notes (2020-06-03)

33 Comments
jimlangford
Community Member

I am new to Canvas and a bit taken aback that there is no way to better organize all the videos I am creating.  And, as I understand it, all of my videos are part of this global Studio file, so all videos from my 4+ courses are together.  Yes, I can tag them but would much prefer folders for each of the courses.

jschreier
Community Participant

Get this done Studio Team!! This is really, really needed. Come on!! 

mclark4
Community Participant

The tags are OK, but folders and subfolders are vastly preferable.  I teach multiple fully-online courses, which involve a lot of video.  Studio is fab, but even with tags, I end up hunting too much.  I have to remember to be consistent with tags, which means I have to keep a list, etc.  As someone upthread noted, it's clumsy.  

michaelp3
Community Novice

Canvas is such a useful tool.  I'm very surprised it doesn't offer a basic filing system for videos.  I may end up with over 100 videos - finding the one I want when I need it is going to be a pain without folders. 

kbarton
Community Member