SOMETHING at all to help with Discussion drafts.

0 Likes

I'm a student, and I've just had to write a response to a discussion THREE TIMES (so far, haven't submitted yet), and there has been nothing to prevent the loss of my draft. I get that it may be hard to implement a draft saving feature (but not too hard, it is on tests), but at the very least could we get a "this page has contents that might not be saved, do you want to navigate away?" box. It would definitely be ACCURATE, and would be VERY useful. Sorry for my use of caps, I just really think that it is necessary to emphasize how easy it would be to prevent a student from losing 10-50 minutes of work, just by accidentally clicking on one of the MANY redirects on a page while contributing to a discussion. If anybody is seeing that, thanks for considering I guess. Anyways, time to (hopefully) write AND submit my response now, god forbid it gets lost again.

Tags (2)
4 Comments
Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni
Status changed to: Archived

@willkessner 

Thanks for sharing this suggestion. The New Rich Content Editor (RCE) has a built-in auto-save capability, and you can read more about it in the View Auto-Saved Content section of How do I add and modify text in the New Rich Conte... - Canvas Community . It sounds like your school may not yet have turned on the New Rich Content Editor in its courses.

You'll be pleased to know that it will be turned on by default for all schools in mid-January 2021; in other words, at that time it will become the only RCE.

Since this functionality has already been developed, we've archived the idea.

jcmarble
Community Member

I don't know if it's something with my school's configuration or version, but the auto-save/restore feature doesn't appear to be working on discussion boards with the rich text editor.