[Discussions] Subject Lines for Discussions

I created a similar suggestion about six months ago. I figured I would try again since there is renewed interest in making discussions more user friendly.

Add more distinction between discussion forum posts to distinguish them from each other.

So here is what I think subject lines would do for discussions.

• Instructors and students could at glance see what threads interest them for further viewing.
  • Adds distinction between threads
  • Makes the discussion topic more organized
26 Comments
Renee_Carney
Community Team
Community Team
  Idea is currently in Product Radar Learn more about this stage...
audrey_crawford
Community Participant

It's pretty disappointing that the format of discussions is outside of scope right now. We are constantly reminded about how important peer-to-peer discussions are in online classes. The current format is discouraging.

Jeff_F
Community Champion

I've been using the current format for two years and it is working quite well in my opinion.  Once I reworked my process and I had a much better outlook.  Oh, and as I previously noted, the redundant response titles aren't being missed one single bit.  Not one iota, not even a dot.

Of course, I retain my not so secret pet peeves to include the lack of differentiation between instructor and student posts (can we please have a star or emphasized avatar next to instructor names?) which is quite an issue in MOOCs with multiple instructors.

druker_stephen
Community Novice

This is a much needed improvement for Canvas. I hope to see it in the future. Other improvements that are need are:

• discussions with multiple topic areas.
  • an auto-generated "reply to" line when students respond to a post (on long threads it gets difficult to see who is talking to whom).