[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
cwruck
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

This is a great idea, and one we hear pretty frequently when we talk to instructors. I definitely see the need for this type of feature. It's something we'd like to tackle, but unfortunately, I don't think it will be something we can do in the immediate future. The good news is, that this is something that has been on our radar for a long time and that we've actually thought long and hard about. I think we will get to this feature eventually have a great solution for this problem, but the pipe is a little to full on our immediate roadmap. I'm going to have to Archive this for now, but don't lose hope. This is a really solid feature request and one that deserves our attention. It won't evaporate from our minds just because it's archived right now.

clegg
Community Member

This option would save me a ton of effort and time.  I am surprised to see it archived.  :smileyconfused::smileyshocked:

I get students who prefer (for whatever reason) to hand me their assignments in class instead of upload them to Canvas.