[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
carsai
Community Member

@p_bier We at KTH have found that the feature actually exists in Canvas API (https://canvas.instructure.com/doc/api/submissions.html#method.submissions.create passing the parameter submissions[user_id]) and are building an LTI app to do exactly that: import scanned exams to Canvas to allow teachers to mark them using SpeedGrader.

If you want, you can look at our solution here (it is open source). Probably you have different setup in Canvas than us and different scanning system, etc. but it is actually possible to do it!

yunecs
Community Novice

I guess this is not high on the list but would be super convenient to be able to do this as an instructor, especially for struggling students. I'd rather get the assignment via email than have to go back and forth with trying to get them to upload.

p_bier
Community Novice