cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I reset course content?

How do I reset course content?

If you have permission as an instructor, you can reset course content with your course settings in Canvas. However, resetting course content permanently removes all content and it cannot be recovered.

When you reset course content, you reset all content in the course including:

  • Course ID—external URLs will no longer direct back to the course unless they are manually changed
  • LTI tools added at the course level

Course details and enrollments will remain intact within your course. Following the reset, your course will be unpublished and will not be visible to students. If you added the course to the Dashboard, it will still appear in the Dashboard after a reset.

Note: Course content cannot be reset in Blueprint Courses.

Open Settings

Open Settings

In Course Navigation, click the Settings link.

Reset Course Content

Reset Course Content

In the sidebar, click the Reset Course Content link.

Confirm Course Reset

Confirm Course Reset

Click the Reset Course Content button.

Was this article helpful? Yes No






If you find a typo or outdated info, or have a suggestion to improve this guide, please share your feedback