Use the canvas API from an LTI 1.3

Jump to solution
xcesaralejandro
Community Explorer

Hello, I am currently trying a demo application with LTI 1.3 and php (I am new to LTI development), I would like to be able to work with more data from the canvas API although of course, working directly with the api makes my application less interoperable, but since it is a demo I would like to experiment.

In order to achieve this, I have had some doubts:
1.- When the LTI canvas is being authenticated, it returns a key called "authenticity_token". What is this really? What is it for?

2.- How can I consume an endpoint of the canvas api from the LTI? Should I register an api key by obligation and ask the user to authorize the application to obtain my bearer token and consume the api?

3.- How can I identify the user and course in question for the relationship between the LTI and the API? The LTI gives me a custom id for the user, since the substitution of variables I cannot directly send the user id to my LTI (only the sisSourceId) and the user ID to consume the API is totally different from the one delivered in the LTI , same for the course id.

Labels (4)
0 Likes
1 Solution
matthew_buckett
Community Contributor

Firstly LTI Advantage (which Canvas implements) allows you as a LTI 1.3 integration to make some API calls that other platforms (VLE/LMS) will also support. For these APIs you don't need any other key, you use the JWK registered with Canvas when you added your LTI developer key to sign these requests. The Canvas documentation pages for these endpoints are:

Instructure also have a few custom APIs that use the same authentication method, for example the API to lookup accounts, https://canvas.instructure.com/doc/api/accounts_(lti).html

1.  The "authenticity_token" isn't part of the LTI 1.0 Security specification, I don't know what it's used for but as far as I'm aware you can't use it to call any Canvas APIs.