Rubric Enhancements - Phase 1 Impressions

James
Community Champion

Rubrics have needed a lot of love and attention for a really long time. I've been using Canvas for 12 years and I've written several Canvancements that enhanced the functionality of rubrics, so I feel like I know something about them.

• My rubric importer allows you to copy/paste a rubric from a spreadsheet and create a rubric in Canvas. 
  • I added the ability to reorder criteria in an existing rubric with drag and drop. It wasn't accessible, there were no handles, but it worked.
  • I added the a "Max Points" button at the top of the rubric to automatically award the maximum points possible.
  • I wrote QuizWiz, which included several SpeedGrader enhancements. The most popular one was the ability to save the rubric results, advance to the next student, and then re-open the rubric for that next student. It really cut down the number of clicks.
  • I wrote a script that would sort the rubrics when you go to add it to an assignment and put the current context at the top of the list.
  • I wrote, but never told people about it, CSS tweaks that would fix SpeedGrader so that the rubrics weren't so big (I have small titles), hide the long descriptions (I don't need them when filling out a rubric), and hide the possible points for each criterion (it just wastes space).

I was a little excited that Canvas was finally providing much needed attention to rubrics. I was hoping that Canvas would fix things and I could retire my Canvancements. Thankfully, they've been fairly stable as it takes a while for Canvas to change things -- as an example, the rubric importer was last updated 7 years ago.