barrylarking
Community Member

Integrating timed assignments and events into calendar

Jump to solution

Hi, I'm new to Canvas and trying to set up a course that includes both live events such as a webinar and assignments such as quizzes. For both types I want to set time slots e.g. from 10.00 am to 11.00 am and I want these time slots to appear on both the calendar and on the syllabus. This is possible for calendar events but not for assignments: the latter only show the due date (which in this case would be the end of the time slot). This can be very confusing in particular on the calendar view that only shows the start date for events (unless you hover) and the due date for assignments (at least on the syllabus you are told that the time is the due date but on the calendar it just shows a time). In other words, on the calendar you see the start time for a calendar event and the end time for an assignment! Does anyone out there have a workaround for this?

A related issue is that once an assignment is finished the student has the option to press the next button and this takes them to the next assignment which is not necessarily the next item on the calendar (i.e. if this is a calendar event). Expecting (new) students to intuitively understand that 'next' does not mean the next event and that they have to return either to the calendar or the syllabus to see the whole story seems to be rather unrealistic. Again any workarounds would be gratefully received. 

Thanks in advance for any tips:)

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
nwilson7
Community Champion