cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rkujawa
Community Participant

Sample draw from question bank -- duplication of questions?

I am new to quizzing w CANVAS.  I created some question banks to build an exam.  I created a series of banks and then drew samples from them for various sections of the exam.  I checked it and tested it and it seemed to be working well.  Students have taken the exam and I was surprised to find duplicate questions on the exam.  I thought that I must've duped them in the bank and went back to check -- nope.  So my question is:  When selecting from a bank is it random selection without replacement?  If it is, has anyone else had the experience of getting questions duped?  My banks are small so, for example, I asked for 6 questions out of a bank of 11 and I saw dupes on the exam for several students.  I'd appreciate thoughts from the experts.

Tags (1)
7 Replies
Renee_Carney
Community Team
Community Team

@rkujawa  

Thanks for posting this to the community.  I think a long time ago I heard of this occurring, but it was when and instructor was drawing more questions than were in the bank.  Would you please go to one of the quizzes you were grading that you saw the issue with and then use the help menu on the left of Canvas to 'report a problem' and report it to our support team?

rkujawa
Community Participant

HI Renee, I am not sure how to submit it to the CANVAS support team.

I click on help but there’s no support team choice. The report a problem link is to our (Saint Michael's College) Help Desk.

Maybe it’s one of the other items.

Here’s a screen grab of the list of clickables.

Richard Kujawa

@rkujawa ‌

Many schools choose to customize their Help menus so that their users follow the support pathway they've defined—so yes, please use the IT Desk link to report this, and the local team can decide after evaluating it how or whether to escalate it to Canvas Support.

rkujawa
Community Participant