Community

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
LynFinman

how do I search?

Jump to solution

I am a student.  would like to search the content of my course materials posted to Canvas for a word/phrase.  Is this possible??  I can't find a search feature.

Thanks,

Lyn

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
chofer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi @LynFinman ...

Unfortunatly, Canvas does not have a search tool that would allow you to search your entire course for keywords.  You can use Ctrl+F on your keyboard to bring up the "Find" tool to search for words on a page, but you'd have to do that for every page in your course...which is probably not what you are looking to do.  There is a third-party product that integrates with Canvas called Atomic Search, but your school would have to purchase this product and set up the integration.  Here's a quick overview of what it does:

Sorry I don't have better news for you, but I hope this helps to answer your question.

View solution in original post

3 Replies
chofer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi @LynFinman ...

Unfortunatly, Canvas does not have a search tool that would allow you to search your entire course for keywords.  You can use Ctrl+F on your keyboard to bring up the "Find" tool to search for words on a page, but you'd have to do that for every page in your course...which is probably not what you are looking to do.  There is a third-party product that integrates with Canvas called Atomic Search, but your school would have to purchase this product and set up the integration.  Here's a quick overview of what it does:

Sorry I don't have better news for you, but I hope this helps to answer your question.