cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Surveyor

TamperMonkey-GreaseMonkey-Postman Tutorial

james@richland.edu‌ has created many great scripts using TamperMonkey/GreaseMonkey that many use.  He also has created the GitHub canvancement which is awesome.   I am an admin with limited coding skills and new to TamperMonkey/GreaseMonkey and Postman and I imagine other administrators are in the same boat.  I would love for the experts here to gather into a team to develop a series of https://community.canvaslms.com/community/ideas/canvaslive?sr=search&searchId=58ed0fb7-8725-474c-be1...‌ webinar sessions that takes anyone using Canvas from simple user to Coding/API master.   What do https://community.canvaslms.com/groups/canvas-developers?sr=search&searchId=5f684eff-bd97-4da2-89b2-...‌ folks think about this?  Would anyone like/have time to join this user group team?  It would also be great to have developers from Canvas to join us as well.

Labels (1)
5 Replies
Highlighted
Navigator

dwillmore@stchas.edu,

When I started Canvancements, I tried to pick a term generic enough that other people could jump in and help out, so it would be awesome if there were an army of coding engineers. Along the line, I discovered that there were many people in a boat like yours -- limited (or no) coding skills, but wishing there was an easier way.

There are many fancier, much better written, programs out there than what I put out. I suspect there are a few reasons why Canvancements seem popular (I don't do any tracking, so I don't know for sure).

• They are written so that a typical user can run them. Using either Google Sheets or user scripts that add a link or button in Canvas. Many of the other scripts I've seen require Python or Java or NodeJS and a development environment.  but typical users don't know how to implement that or do the extra little programming to make it work for them.