Allow waiving a module prerequisite for students or groups

0 Likes
(5)

I am an instructor.

Currently, if you are using prerequisites, there is no way for a student to proceed beyond a point without completing the prereq. This is, of course, the point of prerequisites.

However, there are times when you might want to override the prerequisite. A couple of potential examples... 

• I have a student who did not receive her text books during week 1. This means she cannot complete all the week 1 work. Week 1 is a prerequisite for week 2 module, so she is prevented from working on any week 2 work even though some of the work does not require a text. I would like to give her access to week 2, but would prefer not removing the prerequisite from the module for the whole class.
  • A student gets needs-based permission to skip an assignment. However, without completing the submission, the student cannot proceed.

It would be great to be able to waive the prerequisites for a module for chosen students or groups of students. This allows the prerequisites to exist for all, but be waived on a case-by-case basis.

7 Comments
Allie_Dilts
Instructure
Instructure
Status changed to: Open

Idea opened for conversation.

akhuebel
Community Participant

There have been comments asking for this feature for years.  It's time to provide it for instructors.

CoachShepherd
Community Member

This is a necessary feature for teachers (especially those of us with highly transient populations) that is not available. Please Canvas developers help. 

amclamor
Community Explorer