Bulk Section Reallocation

0 Likes

I'm a Canvas admin at my organisation and I have an idea that would help me greatly in doing my job.

The ability to change sections across multiple courses for a learner.

People have recently left our organisation and I have to go through learner by leaner course by course and change the section they are in to their new trainer this is about 100 learners with about 8-12 courses each that I have to individually go through.

This would be much easier if I could just go onto a learner and select the name of a section and it swapped them that section on all courses for me.

7 Comments
Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni
Status changed to: Moderating

@JaiWOwen  Thanks for sharing this idea. Have you used the enrollments.csv to make changes in bulk to a student's enrollments?  How do I format CSV text files for uploading SIS d...  provides details.

JaiWOwen
Community Participant

@Stef_retired enrollments.csv are great for adding students to sections, we use this when first enrolling students, but to change sections we have to remove them from the old section too. So even if I bulk added them to the new section I would have to go through and remove them from the old section manually.

Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

Thanks for the quick response, @JaiWOwen . Are you also using the enrollments.csv to bulk remove the students from their courses? This section explains the available actions for *status:

• status*: This is how you enroll, conclude, deactivate (make inactive), or remove an enrollment in a course. Mark as active to enroll a user in a course, completed to conclude a user's enrollment in a course, inactive to deactivate the user in the course, and deleted to remove a user from a course. When in an 'inactive' state, a student will be listed in the course roster for instructors but will not be able to view or participate in the course until the enrollment is activated.  
JaiWOwen