Improve Access Report Feature

0 Likes

I am an instructor.

The Access Report feature is the only way for a teacher to see whether a student has accessed a particular item on Canvas. However, this feature has two big problems. Well, it has one gigantic glaring problem that renders it useless, and one frustrating problem. 

Big Giant Problem: it isn't accurate. I cannot use it to get an accurate view of whether my students have accessed a particular item. 

Frustrating Problem: It's hard to use because you cannot navigate between students while in this view. 

1. (Big Giant Problem) I used the access report to see whether students have accessed the lecture, and to send a reminder email to those who have not, so that they don't fall behind. 

2 students emailed me to say that they had watched the lecture. I double checked. Their access report said nothing about it. 

I opened a chat link and waited 2 hours. 

The chat person looked into it, and after looking at Page Views (which I cannot access) they said that the student was correct, they had accessed the page. When I asked why it didn't show up where I could see it, the chat support person said, "The access report is only a limited amount of views I believe"

When I asked if there was a way to ensure that it showed at least one view of each distinct page, the chat person said "No that isn't possible. It's based on the students navigation"

When I asked if there was another way for a teacher to access whether a student had viewed a particular item, they said, "Page views is the most accurate and it is an admin tool"

So the upshot is that if I want an accurate report of whether my students are accessing my lecture, I have to ask admin to verify 5-10 student's access, every week. I have no way of doing so myself.

To put it in the most mild terms, that seems like it could be improved.