Warn before overwriting page content

0 Likes
(1)

I am a professor who teaches and researches about software engineering, and I often co-teach courses. This leads to problems because Canvas does not warn if multiple people are editing the same content (e.g., the same page) at the same time and overwrite each other's edits.

For instance, consider the following sequence of events:

1. At 10:00 am Pacific time, person A starts editing page P.
  2. At 10:10 am Pacific time, person B starts editing the same page. P.
  3. At 10:20 am Pacific time, person A saves their changes to P.
  4. At 10:30 am Pacific time, person B saves their changes to P. 

The result is that B's changes will overwrite A's changes without any warning. I cannot speak to how irritated I and my colleagues been when that has happened. It causes confusion, leads to inconsistencies, and loses potentially valuable content. And I have no idea how often this might have happened!

Here's what I'd like to see, informed by the Pages API https://canvas.instructure.com/doc/api/pages.html:

1. Assume that the Page object for page P has version_id == 7.
  2. At 10:00 am Pacific time, person A starts editing page P with version_id == 7.
  3. At 10:10 am Pacific time, person B starts editing the same page. P with version_id == 7.
  4. At 10:20 am Pacific time, person A tries to save their changes to P. This causes their Canvas session to first check the current version_id of page P in the cloud. It is still 7, so the changes get saved. The version_id of page P in the cloud is now 8.