cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Community Member

MathQuill is a Bit Quirky

I am new to CANVAS. I was exploring today, attempting to create a quiz.  CANVAS has some very nice features for those purposes.  Being an instructor in mathematics, I stumbled upon the MathQuill tool in attempting to build test items.  It does some things very well, but I really got a little rattled when I could not find a facility for creating a FRACTION.  Fractions are a pretty basic mathematical concept.

I opened a chat session with a very attentive representative who researched my query.  She determined that there is a pseudo expression for creting a fraction (\frac{numerator}{denominator}).  It does work and produces beautiful text.  Apparently there are similar expressions for creating other constructs.  I can work around this quirkiness for creating the test items.  However, this simply will not work as a methodology for my middle schoolers to create their fractional responses.

What I find really surprising is that I cannot find that someone had already discovered this.  Perhaps some member of the design team will read this and address it. #Mathquill

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Highlighted
Navigator

175197@hcps.net 

This is a common question -- I've seen it at least four times now.

In MathQuill (and the old equation editor's basic view), a fraction is obtained by typing a slash /

Example: 3/4

Highlighted
Community Member

Thanks, James.

The reason for my post is that the issue has larger constructs than just fractions.  For instance:

1. Accents (line segments, rays, lines, repeating decimals, etc.)
  2. Limits
  3. Matrices
  4. Complex integrals

I just think that it is an area than needs another look so it can be beefed-up.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Navigator

175197@hcps.net