cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
TinaMSwanton
Community Participant

Dropped Courses and Refunds

Hi all. I am new to Catalog and we have not officially launched yet but I am trying to ensure I've got the proper processes in place. Just wondering how do you handle refunds? We are using authorize.net. 

1. Does Catalog notify you as the admin when a course is dropped? If not, how do you manage users?
  2. Is the refund automatic? If not, what process are you using to ensure the enrollee is refunded in a timely manner?

Thanks in advance for your help. 

10 Replies
kevinhitt
Community Participant

Hello Tina!

Welcome to the Catalog family! I've been fortunate enough to have been here for 1 year; there are some great people in the forums with a lot of insight, so you've come to the right place. I'll try to offer my novice experience from what I've encountered so far: 

• Catalog does not send notifications when a user drops a course. My institution actually has added customization to hide the "Drop" buttons in both Catalog and Canvas. That way, students must get in contact with us directly to request a refund / unenrollment. Then, as an admin I would masquerade as the student - by adding a manual Canvas login, logging into Catalog as the student, and then clicking the "Drop" button after making it visible again with some jQuery. Following this, we would proceed with the refund in Touchnet (or your case authorize.net) and the student would receive notification. 
  • The student is not refunded automatically. Luckily my office offers non-credit programs outside of the main University undergrad & grad programs, so our volume isn't as high and we can offer a satisfactory turnaround time for refund requests.

Let me know if I can clarify anything at all! Smiley Happy
Best,
Kevin Hitt

USF Corporate Training 

jsowalsk
Community Advocate
Community Advocate

We are using authorize.net as well.