jdammeier

Can anyone help with pulling current grades for specific list of users using the API?

I am new to the Canvas API and have basic python understanding.

I can successfully make the API call to get course data with the enrollment grades for a user in JSON format.

https://<domain>.instructure.com/api/v1/users/<user_id>/courses.json?include[]=total_scores&enrollme...

I just need to get the following data for courses in the active term for a specified list of students:

• Course Title
  • computed current score
  • computed current grade

Trying to figure out the best way to parse the JSON data to get this information. Would anyone thsat has done something similar be willing to lend a hand?

Labels (1)
14 Replies
jschaffer
Community Champion

@jdammeier ‌,

I have not seen anyone respond to this yet, so maybe my crude approach may help you a bit.  I can think of a few ways to approach this depending on the scope of your request.  There is a canned report in Canvas that will export all Grades for a given term for you:

If you go into Settings => Reports for your Canvas account, you should see the Grade Export Report:

263709_pastedImage_1.png

However, if you want a more surgical approach, you can use the Enrollment Report (under the Provisioning header) to get an idea of who is enrolled in which course:

263726_pastedImage_3.png

From there you can either run your script above, or iterate over the enrollments list to pull the v1/courses/course_id/analytics/users/student_id/assignments data to get  what you need. 

However, I would make sure you account for pagination and add the parameter of per_page=100 to your call so that you get the entire scope of assignments.  I hope this helps.

Regards,

Jason

stuart_ryan
Coach Emeritus

Hi  @jdammeier ,

jschaffer has suggested one way to get access to the data. Another way I have found when I first started researching this for our institution is another option although somewhat less intuitive initially.