Canvas LMS Cheat Detection System In Python

Community Novice

Hello All! 

What it is:

I've been working on a program to separate test users into groups of cheaters and non-cheaters on Canvas quizzes. It's still being developed. However, I've made enough to have a test version for people to download and try now here. I thought this may be interesting for some teachers if anyone finds time to test this program out, let me know! I'm very limited in developing this, as I'm a student that has little to no data-sets.

There are some quirks (especially concerning certain network connections, see the repository readme for more details on that). 

How it works:

This will be a bit more technical, but I will try to explain it as clear as I possibly can, using code examples where appropriate. It may be helpful to look at the code here.

Firstly this is not an instant flagging program that only looks at the number of times a user leaves the page. My assumption is that a student may accidentally hit alt-tab, change the music they are listening to without realizing that they leave the page or some other mishap with how Canvas' javascript tracks page leaves. (I have had a case where Canvas has that a user left the page at the end of a test as the final event and not a page return event). Instead, this program uses unsupervised Machine Learning and Deep Learning to separate cheaters and non-cheaters. 

However, before any of that, the data has to be gathered from the test (quiz):  

gatherer = Quiz(class_id=class_id, quiz_id=quiz_id, url=url, header=header)
constructor = QuizEvents(gatherer, anon=False)