[Assignments] Automatic Grading

As an instructor, I have students post discussion questions and responses each week. If they posted something, they get the points. However, there is no way to automatically grade these-- I have to manually grade each post... Please consider making an automatic grading system, so that the points show up in their gradebook as soon as they have posted. You will make a lot of instructors very happy... we rely on this type of assignment. 

Thanks!  

46 Comments
nellie_yue
Community Participant

A lot of instructors will benefit from this function! For any complete/incomplete assignments as well.

dbking11
Community Novice

This feature would be incredibly helpful and seems fairly simple to implement. In large classes, requiring discussion participation on a pass/fail grading scale can be incredibly time consuming without an auto-grading feature for comments. Ideally, it would also be nice to set a minimum word-count to earn a point or designated points, but at this point I would take anything...

How has this not been implemented if other platforms include the feature??

KatiaNikitina
Community Member

I am in the process of creating an asynchronous, non-cohort based professional development course in Canvas, and I agree that this feature is needed. It is extremely disappointing that there isn't a feasible way to implement discussion boards into a course of this format. Discussion boards are a powerful tool for interdisciplinary students to exchange perspectives. I am hopeful that the request for this feature is seen and acknowledged. Please make it happen!

atia
Community Member

Yes I agree. This feature is much needed. 

vebicae
Community Member