[Theme Editor] Dark Theme/Dark Mode for Canvas

Hello all! I am a student, and I am here to suggest an idea that I thought would make Canvas more personalized. I think a dark theme would be great for Canvas since some students like to stay up at night (not me), and the bright white light from Canvas can hurt their eyes. The main reason why I want it is because it would look better on my computer. Youtube and Google have these options, why not Canvas? Thank you for reading!

Comments from Instructure

While we are not able to announce that this idea has been completed, it is important to celebrate that Dark Mode has been added to Canvas Student, Canvas Teacher, and Canvas Parent. (2022-07-05)

349 Comments
KYEHOUSDEN
Community Member

This is a great idea I love dark mode it helps my eyes so much

MatthewRussillo
Community Novice

Night mode would be a good thing for canvas to have, especially when working on assignments late at night.

RJWALKER
Community Novice

There are many students who end up suffering severe eye strain from online education. Blue light from screens can also cause insomnia and trigger headaches. Canvas can help mitigate these issues by including a "dark mode" so that the white screen is less oppressive. This would be an important accessibility tool for students who get chronic migraines as well. It's honestly baffling why Canvas hasn't included a Dark Mode. There are chrome extensions, but why would there need to be? It's perfectly within Instructure's budget and ability to create a comprehensive Dark Mode for Canvas. The chrome extensions are also imperfect as some parts of canvas are not visible using the extension. 

Why don't we have Dark Mode yet?

Jonathan41
Community Novice

We need something to not hurt our eyes dark theme will make it black and white and a toggle on and off for kids who fall asleep in class

Schmoe
Community Member