cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
EhfazNowman
Community Participant

Grading assignment as points vs percentage

Hi there,

I am new to Canvas and struggling a lot with Grading. 

I have set up assignment groups and gave them all a weight (picture attached). I have an assignment called 'Business Plan' which is scored on 40 points but it carries a weight of 20% of the final grade. When I am scoring each student's submission of the Business Plan manually via Speedgrader and giving them a score, that score shows up as a wrong percentage in the Gradebook (picture attached). 

If you look at the attached Gradebook photo, why is Canvas taking a student who scored 30/40 and assigning his 75% when this particular assignment only carries 20% of the Final Grade. None of this is making any sense to me! Can you please tell me what am I doing wrong? 

GradebookGradebook

SpeedgraderSpeedgraderWeighted assignmentWeighted assignment

0 Kudos
3 Replies
chofer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hello there, @EhfazNowman ...

The "Business Plan" assignment column (with the crossed-out eye icon) that you show in your screenshot looks correct to me.  For example, your Test Student scored 30 points (out of a possible 40).  So, for the other "Business Plan" column (this one is associated with the assignment group you created) to the right of the first "Business Plan" column, a percentage of 75% (30/40 = .75 = 75%) is correct...for that particular assignment column.  The "Business Plan" assignment group column is taking the score of any assignments in the "Business Plan" assignment group and calculating a percentage based off of the score(s) the student got for the assignment(s) in that assignment group.  Even though the percentage (in this case 75%) seems higher than it should be, it will still only count towards 20% of the total grade...as you've specified.

How do I weight the final course grade based on as... - Instructure Community