glenaz

How to add Test Student to Group to test functionality?

Jump to solution

Is there a way to add the Test Student to a group (or create a Test Group), so that as an instructor I can see the functionality that the students can see and use?

Tags (2)
1 Solution
cassidy_reed
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

In short, there is not a way to add the test student to the groups created in the courses. What you can do to access the groups home pages is go to the course and select "People", then you will click on the tab labeled with the groups you want to view. From here you will see 3 dots to the right of each group name. Clicking on those dots will give you the option to "Visit group homepage". 

View solution in original post

9 Replies
kmeeusen
Coach Emeritus

Hi  @glenaz ‌

Currently this is not possible in Canvas. What we have done is create a number of bogus students that we use for various purposes, and we will enroll one or more of them into a teachers course when necessary.

You might want to talk to your own Canvas Admins to see if this is a possibility.

Kelley

kblack
Community Champion

To add to Kelley's sage advice, Gerald, you may want to check out the resourceful  @Chris_Hofer ‌'s post here, which has an interesting solution:  https://community.canvaslms.com/groups/admins/blog/2015/07/09/easy-student-group-access-for-instruct... .  This would involve getting your admin involved, as well. 

Chris_Hofer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi there,  @glenaz !