cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rgibson1
Community Champion

xAPI (Tin Can) in Canvas

A shotgun question, but does anyone know if Instructure is working on Learning Record Store (LRS) capabilities in Canvas? That would allow for tracking of a variety of user engagement .

10 Replies
laurakgibbs
Community Champion

I would be interested in the answer to this question also, so I am pinging  @James ‌, API wizard.

I remember hearing a lot about Tin Can when it was first getting started, and it sounded intriguing. 

James
Community Champion

rgibson1, I'm not an expert on this, but laurakgibbs pinged me, so I'll share what I've seen. I don't have any special insight beyond what I've read in the Community or API documentation.

Canvas has been pushing the Live Events based of the IMS Caliper specification. How Do I Configure Live Events for Canvas Data? You have to set up your own data store with Amazon Web Service to use it, though. It's not for learning activity streams.

Canvas has already implemented a small portion of xAPI. xAPI with LTI tools - Canvas LMS REST API Documentation. The documentation is extremely limited. It reminds me a little of SCORM -- Canvas felt they needed to do something, but the functionality is minimal.

As they exist in Canvas right now, they appear to do two completely different things, though. Live Events seem Canvas-based, so you can track what's happening within Canvas and take actions when certain things happen. xAPI is external, which would be more appropriate for learning. I think IMS Caliper is designed to be used for learning activity streams, but it doesn't seem to be in Canvas just yet. I believe I heard something about Caliper sensors nearing completion back at the 2015 InstructureCon, but if there has been an official notice, I missed it and the Community is pretty void of mentions of it.