Find all Public Courses using API

Jump to solution
ysmalls
Community Champion

Hello,

My disclaimer:  I’m not a programmer but wanting to learn.

@dwillmore   had posted created a post regarding course’s that were set to Public visibility and needed update them to private and I’m at a point where I need this done.

I started by running the Public Courses report by Term for this school year only.

Thanks the response from  @James   I was able to create API calls using Postman but some data is quirky.

I first ran the Public Courses report by Term.

I created a Get API that list all my public courses( again thanks James Jones):

GET /api/v1/search/all_courses?public_only=1&per_page=100

However, my results only list 47 courses and I know there are more since I was cross-referencing them again the report I had generated but I moved on to the next API call.

I then created a PUT API to update the course to private (again thanks  @James  😞

PUT /api/v1/courses/:course_id?course[is_public]=0

Now when I run this for just one course it does work but funny thing is that this will then select “Customize” and set the Syllabus to “Public”?  Weird right or am I missing something?

Therefore, to eliminate that issue I change the API call to:

PUT /api/v1/courses/:course_id?course[is_public]=0&course[public_syllabus]=0

Finally, I got what I wanted and was able to update one course to private and keep the syllabus as private.

So I wanted to be able to update all courses through API call using Postman but realized that’s not possible?  Well it is kind of but I would need to create something to iterate or a collection that will run one course at a time?  Again this is using Postman and way above my head and I’m really liking API’s!