Templating Courses Tool

mcowen
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

Templates are Awesome!  They help create a solid launching point for creating quality courses.

There are a couple of different ways to put a template in a new course shell.

1. Importing a template course from Commons
  2. Using the Blueprint feature
  3. Copying another course which you have designated as a 'Template'.

Depending on the needs and workflow of your institution any one of these can work very well. This blog will focus on the third method listed "Copying another course which you have designated as a Template."

Why:

As a Remote Canvas Admin, I have been asked to apply a course template to all newly created courses for an institution that I serve. This was a daily task, so I decided to automate it using Google Sheets / App Script.  Word got out around the office about my tool and I've had a couple of requests for it, so I decided to make it generic for any institution and share it here in the Community. I chose Google Sheets because it is easily shareable with anyone, uses mostly JavaScript and offers a UI that makes manipulating data more human readable.

What:

This tool is a Google Sheet that uses the App Script language which is mostly JavaScript.  Once it is configured, just click the 'Canvas' menu, then 'Apply Template to Unchanged & New Courses' and all courses that are newly created will be updated with your template course. BAM!

The logic of the tool is essentially this:

1. Configure your domain and token.
  2. Tell the script the canvas course ID of the most recently created course. Any courses that are created after this one will have the template applied to it, with one exception.
    1.  Exception: The script will check each course to look for existing content.  If content exists in the course, the template will not be applied. There were a couple of requests for this feature. If you prefer not to use it, you can remove the