Allow folders in Pages

(257)

The Files section of Canvas allows folders for organizing files. Pages does not. Why the awful inconsistency in the user interface? I currently have 30+ pages that I've created in - all in flat directory structure. I'd like to be able to organize them, you know, like Files and stuff I have on my computer.

Comments from Instructure

Please refer to the update from the product team here

406 Comments
cmyers6
Community Member

This would be VERY helpful to organize content.  

oksanchez
Community Novice

I would love to have the ability to use folders within pages.  I am a Kindergarten teacher with many pages.  It is not efficient to have to scroll through my list to find the page I want to link to.  It would also be wonderful if a search option existed in pages as well.

pwoolard1
Community Member

Our elementary teachers are trying to create entire courses using 1 course card. For ease of access for students. With six subjects of content in Pages, their pages are already over 100 long.  Pages needs to have a way to create folders to organize as opposed to one long list.  This is not effective or user friendly. 

jcucchiarelli
Community Novice

Yes-the number of pages is  already overwhelming and we're in the 2nd month of school.  Please create a folder option for pages.  Thank you!

dperpich
Community Participant

I'm confused.  A related Idea, posted in August 2020, appears to have been closed because of duplication and a Canvas Community member directs the conversation here. 

https://community.canvaslms.com/t5/Idea-Conversations/Group-Pages/idi-p/387782

But THIS Idea also appears to be archived,... maybe even in 2017.

The lack of more customization here is a game-stopper for our organization as we try to share complex modules via Commons.  Instructors who also use Pages on their own simply cannot navigate the chaos.  Let alone students.

torresga
Community Member

Thank you for submitting this idea

studyvs
Community Participant