Quizzes Accommodations and Modifications

0 Likes

I work as a special education teacher in the a larger public school district. The majority of my day is spent in the co-taught setting. Giving me a mix of students with and without IEP accommodations. The one struggle we have had this year has been testing for students with IEPs. Each IEP is different for the student and each student uses the modifications and accommodations of their IEPs differently. I have three suggestions that I would greatly benefit both students with IEPs and general education students. 

First off, there needs to be a way for students to have the test read to them in quizzes. Many students, especially in the CT classroom, don't want to be taken out of the room to take a test. Some get embarrassed by it, this shouldn't be the case, but this is the nature of school today. It would be great to be able to share the test with the student and they can put headphones in and have it read to them from their desk. I have seen this suggested before, I have even suggested it myself, it is something that is desperately needed for all students and teachers. 

Secondly, if it is too hard or time consuming to program a way for the site to read test's then give an option for teachers to also record the question while they are making the test. This way students can have an option to listen to questions, and control which questions they listen to. This would be a fair compromise to the test read function that would still allow for quite a bit of versatility. Would also be very useful in the general education setting.