multiple due dates for a single assignment and same student

(4)

While creating a journal assignment, for example, I would like to assign the journal to a student/section and make it due weekly.  So I add a due date for the first week and select "everyone" from the "for" drop down.  I go to add another due date, but "everyone" is now missing from the "for" drop down because it has already been used.

Option #1 (preferred): I would like to see all the same students/sections listed in the "for" drop down every time I add a due date.

Option #2: Offer an option to make the initial date recurring (weekly/monthly/etc.) for the initially selected "everyone."

I see the request for multiple due dates for discussions, but didn't want single assignments due multiple times to miss out on this.

Thanks,

Alford

4 Comments
brethughes
Community Novice

This is an essential add-on.

As a music teacher, my students are required to maintain daily practice logs, and then I want to see them every 5-10 days.  Because we deal with teenagers, they constantly forget to turn things in that don't appear on their to-do list, or show up as a grade in the gradebook. 

As a standards-based grading instructor, it makes substantially more sense for me to create ONE assignment, with multiple due dates for all kids, so that they end up with ONE grade at the end of the quarter, not 9 that then have to be calculated together.   

It also makes it so that their feedback comments from the first submission are easily accessible for future submissions so I can remember exactly what I said to them, and what they may have said back.

ralves1
Community Member