cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Community Member

Best way to add LaTeX equations

I'm a newbie to Canvas. I have found the equation editor, which works fine. But I have pages with many equations. Is there a way to include the LaTeX code in a page, and then have Canvas automatically render the equation? Thanks - this would be a big time saver.

31 Replies
Highlighted
Surveyor

However, I am a math teacher, not a coder. Why doesn't the math equation editor stick to the information typed in? Sometimes the image is fine for the student, sometimes it is not and I cannot tell ahead of time. When I want to do question groups or shuffle answers, this flaw definitely slows down the test taking of the students, since I have to show them a paper copy (also not easy to do) and hope their answers are in the same order as the paper copy.

Highlighted

@rgerritsen yes, you are right. Thank you!

I was looking at the html output itself in Chrome. It works fine within Canvas, after pasting the html file contents into the Canvas html editor.

Highlighted

@phonehome, looking at the image you provide I think that you viewed the html in your browser and not withing a canvas environment. MathML (the math markup language used by canvas) is not necessarily natively supported by webbrowsers (I think only firefox has full MathML support). So for the math to work, you need to copy paste the HTML into the HTML editor of canvas and view it as a canvas page. 

If you, however, want to use it to generate HTML that is fully supported by your browser, you could try to delete the MathML option in the textToHtml.py file (it is in the runPandoc function in the args  variable), simply remove the string "--mathml" from the list. It will then default to use MathJax, which I think is more widely supported, but strangely enough not by the canvas HTML environment.