CSS initialization across a sub-account

CKB_KY
Community Member

Newbie here. With a minimal coding background - I am curious about the best way to get CSS started in a new theme & new subaccount to enhance the student experience.  Any help is greatly appreciated!

@James I've run across multiple posts where you have shared detailed knowledge over implementation of CSS - in case you'd have interest providing help with this beginner's request.    Appreciate any and all advice. 

0 Likes
2 Replies

James
Community Champion

@CKB_KY,

Thanks for thinking of me, but I have other things that demand my attention right now and won't be able to help.

Your message is kind of vague, so I'm not sure exactly what you're asking for. If you don't know anything about CSS, you have no business putting it into the custom themes inside Canvas. If you know CSS and just want to get it into the theme, see the administrator guide documentation: How do I upload custom JavaScript and CSS files to an account?

0 Likes

chriscas
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi @CKB_KY,

I agree with James that your message is a bit vague.  You can have a custom CSS and a custom JavaScript file in your account theme, which is great, but it doesn't mean you can do anything and everything and doesn't necessarily mean it will be easy.

I got started dabbling in this area years ago as my institution wanted to hide some options form faculty back when permissions were not as granular as they are now.  This is relatively easy to do with JavaScript and/or CSS, depending on the item you're trying to hide.  Similarly, adding a little text somewhere can be relatively easy.  I have a computer science degree, so while I hadn't dabbled in CSS or JavaScript in years, I still had an idea of how they worked in my head, knew what probably would be doable, and could "google search" my way through it...