Learning LTI with Atomic Jolt & a Noobie

sonya_corcoran1
Community Contributor

LEARN LTI WITH ME, A NOOBIE!

I'm an educational designer turned web developer. Since there's no such thing as a silly question, I thought I would share all my questions on LTI to help others learn. Perhaps we can even start an LTI study group!?!

I've been struggling to wrap my head around LTI since starting my new role here at UTS. I'm a junior Ruby/JS dev so there are gaps in my knowledge that I simply could not fill on my own by reading the documentation (even though I have a billion and one times), watching all the instructureCon videos and cloning all of the LTI repos on Github. I'm a little embarrassed to admit that I needed some (read: a lot) of hand holding.

Thankfully, I found Atomic Jolt! With the help of the incredible minds at Atomic Jolt , I've finally started to understand LTI line by line. I thought I would share what I've been learning, hopefully, to encourage others to ask questions and continue to collaborate so we can start to build social, engaging, data-driven, interactive activities (think: You Draw It )

So here goes, I'll continue to add/edit this original post with more questions I had for @justinball and his team. Chime in at any time to add yours.

Cheers

Sonya

PS. A million thanks to Justin, for his patience, generosity with his knowledge and excellent teaching skills. LTI is hard but it's so much fun learning ALL THE THINGS!!!

Meeting 1: How do I get started with the LTI Starter App & Pass a Grade to the Gradebook

Atomic Jolt LTI Starter Ep. 1: Getting started with the Atomic Jolt LTI Starter App - YouTube

GitHub - atomicjolt/lti_starter_app

Meeting 1.5: How do I setup ngrok?

Atomic Jolt LTI Starter Ep 2: Using ngrok with the Atomic Jolt LTI Starter App - YouTube

Meeting 2: How do I add my LTI tool through the Rich Text Editor (Ruby)?

Atomic Jolt LTI Starter Ep 3: Content Item Example - YouTube

GitHub - atomicjolt/content_item_example