Disable/Deactive User at Account Level

Idea created by Wendy Mack on Nov 3, 2016
    Radar
    Score172
    Idea is currently in Product Radar Learn more about this stage...
      Idea open for vote Wed. December 7, 2016 - Wed. March 1, 2017  Learn more about voting...

     

    This idea was previously submitted, but didn't get enough votes.  We need your help to make it happen this time around.

     

    At my institution, if a student does not pay in time for a course, is unreachable by multiple forms of communication, and passes a given grace period, we temporarily conclude the enrollment in every active course the student’s Canvas account appears in.

     

     

    Problems with this approach:

    • Students become confused/frustrated with Canvas because they think there is a Canvas error (they can see the course in the Courses tab but not on the dashboard)
    • If a student was in the course at the time of the concluded enrollment, the course "breaks (they assignments won't work, they can't submit assignments, etc.)
    • This is a huge time drain on our staff to conclude each course for multiple students.  Sometimes there are 10-15 courses depending on the major.
    • A professor cannot enter past grades for the student in the gradebook and has to keep track of their grades separately until their access is restored.  Our faculty is very frustrated with Canvas by this.
    • There is human error in forgetting to restore a course - student becomes frustrated.

     

    As our programs (especially our online program) grows, we are very concerned that we will not be able to keep up with the workload.  This is inefficient at best and not a good practice.

     

    Solution

    We NEED a way to deactivate a user at the account level instead of manually removing them from each course.  This will save our staff time and will allow our professors to continue keeping track of their students grades.

     

    Comments from Instructure

     

    February 2017 update from Chris Ward

    We're reworking the user/course account-level settings, and will consider adding this as a feature at that time. I understand the frustration and unnecessary work added by not having this.