dljoyork
Community Participant

trigger certificate

As a Catalog subaccount admin, I sometimes have students who complete one of our courses outside of the days allotted.  This means that they don't get a certificate.  Is it possible to trigger Catalog to create the certificate? I've tried editing the section date and resaving the catalog and course in Catalog admin.  Will it trigger if the student goes back and "completes"  the module requirements again after I've changed the dates?  Or is there another way?

14 Replies
jsowalsk
Advocate

@dljoyork The only way I know people will be allotted certificates is if they complete the module requirements not necessary by the end dates of the course.

0 Kudos
KathyPalm
Community Participant

Hello!

Have you confirmed that the system recorded them as complete?
We find it very helpful to check using the API as we have had some user error with the completion settings. 

You can check with the API call:

https://YourURLhere/api/v1/courses/###/users/###/progress

You will get a response back like this:

"requirement_count": 4,
"requirement_completed_count": 4,
"next_requirement_url": null,
"completed_at": "2022-09-14T10:55:07Z"

If they haven't completed, then they don't have a date/time stamp

What we found then was that once they show as complete on the API call, usually the next day we could see their certificate in the Catalog admin panel. My understanding from support is that there is no direct trigger we can do, but the main thing is to confirm that the user has completed the requirements. Then Catalog should pick it up the next day. If it isn't visible in 48 hours after the timestamp, then I would recommend putting in a support case for that particular incident.

@KathyPalm This is great information! Can you look up the completion by a specific user or listing and user? If so, what is the API call?

0 Kudos
KathyPalm
Community Participant