cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
nschutz
Community Participant

Http request error

Hello,

I am new to Canvas and trying to get started on using the APIs. When I put a simple request in my browser, https://domain.instructure.com/api/v1/courses/ , I get the following error displayed.

SyntaxError: JSON.parse: unexpected character at line 1 column 1 of the JSON data
Could it be I am an admin and not enrolled in any courses?
I get the same error when I send this request, https://domain.instructure.com/api/v1/courses/$courseid/pages 
even though I have access to this course.
I appreciate your insights.
Tags (3)
16 Replies
James
Community Champion

@nschutz ,

You are getting a list of courses, but Canvas puts a while(1); in the front of it since your browser hasn't told it that it can handle JSON results. The while(1); is not valid JSON and so the browser is complaining.

Here's what I get when I try the first request inside Chrome.

266509_pastedImage_2.png

Here's what I get when I try it in Firefox

266510_pastedImage_3.png

Okay, that's not technically true. What I get is this:

266511_pastedImage_4.png

Recent versions of Firefox handle JSON and allow you to look at it in formatted JSON view or in Raw Data mode.

But ... but ... but ... I'm using Firefox, you say.

Okay, so what you're seeing is this error:

266512_pastedImage_5.png

If you switch to Raw Data, you'll see the while(1); at the beginning as I showed before.

The problem is that Firefox does not accept JSON responses by default and you need to tell it to do that if you want to do this kind of thing in your browser. 

This is controlled by the network.http.accept.default setting. By default, it is set to 

text/html,application/xhtml+xml,application/xml;q=0.9,*/*;q=0.8

Since that doesn't contain application/json, Canvas puts the while(1); in front.

What I've done is modified mine to include the application/json. Here's what mine looks like.