Issue with update_score_and_comments() API call

Jump to solution
MichaelCrowl
Community Explorer

EDIT: Updated the post to reflect some of the things I learned in comments and feedback to make this more clear.

Good day!  First time posting here, so here's to hoping I can make this easy to understand.  I'm an instructor with a passion to automate manual tasks.

Foregoing the fact that I'm using the Python canvasapi, I'm struggling with the Live API (which will later inform how I use my Python API).  

The Canvas LMS API provides the following example of a hash:

{
  "quiz_submissions": [{
    "attempt": 1,
    "fudge_points": -2.4,
    "questions": {
      "1": {
        "score": 2.5,
        "comment": "This can't be right, but I'll let it pass this one time."
      },
      "2": {
        "score": 0,
        "comment": "Good thinking. Almost!"
      }
    }
  }]
}

The link to that source is here:

https://canvas.instructure.com/doc/api/quiz_submissions.html#method.quizzes/quiz_submissions_api.upd...

Here's the hash my Python code produces:

{
'quiz_submissions': [{
'attempt': 1,
'fudge_points': 0,
'questions': {
'229417081': {'score': 10, 'comment': ''},
'229417071': {'score': 10, 'comment': ''},
'229417074': {'score': 10, 'comment': ''},
'229417023': {'score': 10, 'comment': ''},
'229415416': {'score': 30, 'comment': ''},
'229417041': {'score': 30, 'comment': ''}
}
}]
}

We've already established that the question IDs are the correct value to use rather than 1/2/3/etc, and the single/double quotes are not the issue.  The course_id, quiz_id, and submission ID I give to Live API are all correct, as they work for the GETs.  It's this one PUT that is rejecting my hash with the following error:

{ "status": "bad_request", "message": "missing required key :quiz_submissions" }

What am I doing wrong with my hash in Live API? 

0 Likes
1 Solution