[New Quizzes] Allow Ability to Change Question Type in New Quizzes

As a teacher, I'd like the ability to change the question type after I have already created the question (like I was able to do with the Classic Quizzes).  For example, after I've created a multiple choice question, but want to change this to a multiple answer question, I could click on a drop down tab next to the question to easily make this adjustment.

Added to Theme

Build dynamic question types Theme Status: Identified

26 Comments
Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni
Status changed to: Open

tommy_flynn
Community Explorer

I second this suggestion. I could use this nearly every time I create a quiz. Thanks!

hoggardr
Community Explorer

I completely agree with this.  I am so frustrated today with the quiz I am creating...  So many times I have started developing a question and then decide it is better suited for a different type of question.  With this crazy new quiz interface, I have to delete the question that I have already half written and recreate it again just to be able to change the question type.  This is ridiculous!

Harlin
Community Member

Yes, teachers liked how they could import questions into Classic Quizzes and then change the question type.  This is something they would like as an added feature for New Quizzes.  

Steven_S
Community Champion

This is a challenge in every quiz with every quiz question that I write.  I start a prompt, and then want multiple choice instead of true/false, or vice versa, or an essay question instead of either of those.  But the question type cannot be changed without starting over. 

Also, for those concerned over partial credit, a fill-in-the-blank with a word bank could be easily switched to matching, since one uses partial credit and the other does not, but currently the entire question must be rewritten.

kirsten_ryall
Community Participant