Community

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
hollands
Community Contributor

Custom JS to hide Import Course link for Teachers

Hello fellow Canvas users. I have a kind of unique question. My school is transitioning the majority of course courses from a previous LMS we have used to Canvas which we have had for a number of years. 

In this move we'd like to control who and what can be imported into a course so minimize the amount of cleanup our instructional design team needs to do so we would like to hide the Import Course Content button on the Course settings page.

I believe we can do this by adding a JS file to our theme but I'm not exactly sure what JS I should generate. I have found some samples on the forums but I'm a JS noob and I don't know very much. Any help would be most appreciated!

Original I found

$(document).ready(function(){
if($.inArray('admin',ENV['current_user_roles']) == -1) {
   $(".AddExternalToolButton").hide();

console.log ('hide Add App button')

}
});

My guess as to my desired goal

$(document).ready(function(){
if($.inArray('admin',ENV['current_user_roles']) == -1) {
   $(".ImportcoursecontentButton").hide();

console.log ('hide Add App button')

}
});

Tags (1)
4 Replies
James
Community Champion

@hollands  

There is also an "Import Existing Content" on the course home page that you might need to watch out for.

This function will hide those two elements for anyone who is not an admin or root_admin. It relies on classnames to identify the content. It verifies the page that you're on before it attempts to do anything.

(function() {
'use strict';
if (!ENV.current_user_roles.some(e => ['admin','root_admin'].includes(e))) {
if (/^\/courses\/\d+\/?$/.test(window.location.pathname)) {
const el = document.querySelector('#course_show_secondary a > i.icon-import');
if (el) {
el.parentElement.style.display = 'none';
}
}
if (/^\/courses\/\d+\/settings?$/.test(window.location.pathname)) {