How do I see when a teacher uploaded a video?

Jump to solution
KentKersey1
Community Explorer

As an admin, I need to see the exact time/date a teacher uploaded a video into a module. How do I do that?

Labels (1)
0 Likes
1 Solution
James
Community Champion

@KentKersey1 

I'm not sure exactly what you mean by "uploaded" into to a "module".

Do you want to know when the video was uploaded or when a link to the video was added to the module? I'm going to try to answer the second question.

You would need to use the Modules API to determine when a module item was uploaded. I'll explain this as it's a one-off that you need to investigate because of some student complaint. If you need to do it in bulk as part of tracking, then it complicates things. I'll give a browser-only solution.

1. Start by finding the Module Item ID. In a browser, find the module item for the video, click on the three dots to the right of the item and then hover over the edit button. If you look at the link, it should end in /modules/items/ and then a number. That number is the module ID you need. If you cannot see the link in your browser, you can right-click and choose copy link address. Then paste it somewhere to get the ID from the end.
  2. From your main Canvas instance (the dashboard URL), add /graphiql to the end of the location and hit enter. This will bring up the graphiQL interface.
  3. In the middle section, paste the code below and then change the id from 108474245 to your actual number.
  4. Click the Play button at the top and the output will show up on the right side.
query moduleItemDates {
  moduleItem(id: "108474245") {
    createdAt
    updatedAt
  }
}

Here's what the output looks like for my module 108474245 (again, use your number).

{
  "data": {
    "moduleItem": {
      "createdAt": "2024-05-07T08:56:38-05:00",
      "updatedAt": "2024-08-05T11:16:49-05:00"
    }
  }
}