Negative points on Rubrics

Jump to solution
EleanorChlan
Community Explorer

I am an instructor and want to use positive values in the rubrics for things that relate to the contents of the assignment and negative points for failing to meet overall guidelines, i.e. lateness, not replying to everyone in a discussion, and so forth.  How can I do this. Nothing I have tried has worked so far. All suggestions welcome

2 Solutions

@EleanorChlan @SusanNiemeyer @Chris_Hofer -

It is very easy to give students negative points through a rubric.  I do it all the time.  For the last criteria in a rubric, make two entries each worth zero points.  Give it a name like deductions for incorrectness not covered in the above rubric criteria.  Then if you have to give students negative points for something, you can type the reason in the comment box and then put -5 in the score box.  See the picture below:

negative_rubric.jpg

 Ron

View solution in original post

James
Community Champion

In testing things for my response to Ron ( @Ron_Bowman ), I discovered (I don't know if I'm the first, but I didn't see anyone else doing this) a hack where Canvas will allow you to put a negative point value in a rubric and make it clickable so you do not have to type in the value. It does not negatively impact the score unless it is selected. It is great for things that you don't want to award points for, but do want to take points off for.

Disclaimer: Negative points in rubrics are not supported by Canvas. They take great but imperfect -- which is why this hack works -- lengths to make sure you don't use negatives. I cannot recommend this as I'm not sure what else might break, but here it is.

This trick works only if you have exactly two ratings for a criterion. It cannot be used for varying levels of lateness within a rubric. If there are more than two ratings, then it zeros out everything but the first rating.