fractions in quizzes

Jump to solution
SWANSSE
Community Member

I'm building a quiz on the topic of fractions. I don't want to use multiple choice, so students have to enter the exact numeric answer. However, the builder does not have a fraction tool nor will it accept "1/4" as a number. Is there anything that can be done about this? My school requires us to use Canvas, and I'm a math teacher. 

0 Likes
1 Solution

Hello @SWANSSE ...

My guess is that @KristinL wanted to know which version of the Canvas quizzing engine you were using so that she could provide the best solution for you.  I don't think she was trying to avoid answering your question.

I do have a possible solution for you, however.  Thanks for sharing your screenshot in a separate reply.  This helps us know that you are using New Quizzes instead of Classic Quizzes.  Rather than using a "Numeric" question type, I would like you to try using a "Fill in the Blank" question type instead.  (I know it may sound weird...but just hang with me here.)  How do I create a Fill in the Blank question in New Quizzes?

I created a question similar to yours in my own sandbox course.  It looks like this:

Screenshot 2022-09-08 170516.jpg

Notice that I added an additional line in the question for "Your answer" ... which is what students would see.  Then, I put the fraction in backticks (the character just to the left of the number 1 key on your top row of numbers on your keyboard).  Then, I selected the "Text Match" option to "Exact Match".  This means that students would have to type in:

1/4

In this next screen shot, this is what it looks like once you are finished editing the question in your New Quiz:

Screenshot 2022-09-08 170553.jpg

And this is what the question would look like from a student perspective:

Screenshot 2022-09-08 170617.jpg