quiz accommodation- breaks

Jump to solution
JenniferHarmon1
Community Member

I'm an admin at a grad school, and we are seeking a way to administer the "take breaks during a test" accommodation. A workaround suggested by another user was to just extend the overall time. However, in this case the student has up to 24 hours to take the test, and a mechanism is needed to pause and then restart the test without leaving it open. What options are available?

Labels (1)
0 Likes
1 Solution
James
Community Champion

@JenniferHarmon1 

If you haven't found it yet, Standard for Extending Time on Quizzes is a good review of existing functionality.

Is your 24 hours the availability window to take the exam or the time they have to take the exam once they start? If this is in a proctored situation, then giving someone 24 hours sounds challenging. Since I'm not familiar with that accommodation, how long do they get to leave for? Is it for a few minutes or can they leave and come back the next day?

With Classic Quizzes, students can leave without submitting and come back and the timer will keep running. You can close the page if needed and when they come back, they will see "Resume Quiz". If the exam is proctored and it needs to be finished within a single day, then you may want to extend the time for that student to accommodate for the breaks. Since you don't know how long or frequent those might be, you could set it to something like 8 hours and then let the proctor keep track of the time. Of course, you would need to explain to the student that they really don't have 8 hours to take the exam.