Printable / PDF-exportable quizzes

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas
The Quiz Build page provides quiz printing options. For more information, please read through the  Canvas Release Notes (2021-08-21).

As an instructor, I want to be able to export a Canvas quiz as a PDF. This would enable me to easily print quizzes for the purpose of accommodation, for allowing a given student to take a quiz outside the timeframe established for the quiz for all other students, etc.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Pacific Union College admins

Special thanks for contributions from: Betsy Walker, John Louviere

Community Team Note: This idea remains open for voting. A virtually identical idea was moved forward for consideration in March: https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/7285-exporting-quizzes-into-word-or-pdf-documents  Contrary to our customary practice, we are allowing both ideas to continue to move forward. Votes and feedback from both ideas will be evaluated.

341 Comments
Gina_Hutchens
Community Participant

I totally agree with this.  Having an option to have a printed copy of the quiz would be awesome for those teachers that have students that must take tests on paper.  We have students that have concussions during various sports and are not allowed on a computer and everything has to be printed.  At this time a print screen is about the only way to do this without having to do a lot of copying and pasting.

jeremymay
Community Contributor

Though I'm not a huge fan of printing, I definitely agree with  @Gina_Hutchens ​ for the medical reason behind this, but also because some students have documented accommodations to take assessments via pencil/paper.  It's also helpful in the mass chaos unplanned outages cause.  A teacher can run a hard backup for just-in-case situations.

keadmin
Community Novice