Can you create a dynamic iFrame URL using student user ids?

Jump to solution
sharper
Community Novice

I'm a new Canvas admin and am trying to figure if I can annotate iFrame URLs with user information. I have a survey that I'd like to embed in a Canvas page; the first question is hidden and ideally would populate with the student's Canvas user ID. Theoretically, the HTML content of the page would look like the following, but the portion in pink would be dynamic to the viewing user's ID. Is this something that (1) is doable in Canvas and (2) someone with limited API/LTI knowledge would be able to easily implement? Thanks!

<iframe src="https://survey.clicktools.com/app/survey/go.jsp?iv=3vo8w3wtc10a5&q1=user_id" width="100%" height="600"></iframe></p>

1 Solution
ColinMurtaugh
Community Champion

Hi Shanna --

You could accomplish this using either some custom Javascript or by building a simple LTI tool. For the Javascript approach, you could take advantage of the fact that every Canvas page has some special Javascript variables available , including one that contains the user ID of the currently logged-in user:

ENV['current_user_id']

(You can see all of these special environment variables by opening your browser's developer tools console and typing 'ENV') Your custom Javascript could look for an iframe with your clicktools URL in the src, and append the value of the ENV['current_user_id'] variable.  The pros of this approach are that it'd be fairly simple code to write, and it wouldn't require you to run any server-side software. The cons are that the Javascript code would probably need to run on every page, and that using Javascript to manipulate a page's content like this can be brittle (it can stop working if the page's markup changes in unexpected ways).