Community

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
agatten1

Using API to Create Groups Based on Number of Students and Have Unique Names

Hi all - I posted this in the general question forum but realized this group might be a better place. Apologies if this was wrong to do. I'm not a developer per se, but I'm an instructional designer at a relatively large school. I am relatively new to tapping into Canvas APIs, but I think I am getting the hang of it. I use Postman primarily.

I am looking to create groups in sections of courses prior to course migration and I am running into two problems/questions I can't find answers to.

1) I would use the create group category call, but it generates groups that all have the same name as the group category. Some courses have groups with unique names (eg the group will be titled an assigned topic for the students, which will be different than the category title which might just be "Project Name"). So I was thinking I could create a group category with no groups, then use a different call to create the individual groups, and then after, run a call to assign unassigned members, which seems like it might work. Does that sound right?