Anonymous Discussion Forums

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Idea:

Instructors can create discussions that allow for posts to be made anonymously

Use Cases:

As an instructor, I want to create discussions in which participation is anonymous. This would free my students to share their thoughts without worrying about judgement / criticism by their peers or me. They'd take risks they might not otherwise.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Lynn McCarty
Thank you especially for contributions by: Rob Ditto, Allison Pyle, Renee Carney, Robert Jones

151 Comments
willmoin
Community Participant

There is a lot of interest in anonymous discussion board posting in our uni that has recently come over to Canvas and I can see it would be especially valuable to those courses which have discussion of sensitive nature to individuals. It's been penciled in in the 3rd phase of the Dicussion Board/Announcements redesign so given it has been such a long-term request it would be good to see some definite news on this. By implementing 3rd party tools to deliver on this instead (in absense of development) further dilutes the Canvas offering IMO

mlabbett
Community Participant

Our school would definitely benefit form an anonymous discussion feature.  Many of our Psychology courses have sensitive subjects in which students would benefit from either personal or professional experiences that are sensitive and they may not want to be identified.  Please look into adding this feature!

KristinL
Community Team
Community Team
Status changed to: Completed
Comments from Instructure

dspiel
Community Participant