[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
lindalee
Community Contributor

Another use case for this feature is a situation that just came up this morning: The teaching team for a course did not set up an assignment as a group assignment. With the ability to submit work on behalf of a student, a teaching team could easily create a new assignment (properly configured as a group assignment), and then resubmit what has already been turned in on behalf of students. This would have several advantages: It would eliminate the possibility that students would forget to resubmit, and it would reduce the possibility that students would resubmit a different version of their work. It would also spare the teaching team embarrassment about the improperly configured assignment.

petern
Community Contributor

We're beginning canvas users at my school and most students are tech savvy but some are not. These following situations (which have all happened) would be fixed if teachers could submit on behalf of students:

- students sometimes submit to the wrong assignment.

- student emails the assignment to teacher.