[Courses] Comprehensive Course Search Tool (Searching Course Content for a Topic)

I always find it useful to search for content using an index or an actual search tool rather than just scrolling through all of the pages one by one to find what I need.  I can see many uses for this:
  1. As a student, I know that a particular topic was covered but I'm not sure where.  I can search the course for the keyword and the page hits will come up.
  2. As an instructor, I want to know where else these students have seen a particular concept.  I can search a bunch of courses for a keyword and the courses and page hits will come up.
  3. As a student, as I am trying to integrate information from multiple lectures within a course or within multiple courses, it would be useful to see where a particular concept has been covered.

Tracey

Added to Theme

Add or improve search functionality Theme Status: Identified

206 Comments
bdean1
Community Member

Our institution would benefit greatly from a Search function within Canvas. We've curated both faculty and student resources in Canvas, and it would be quick and easy for a users to search for specific topics in these extensive resource collections. 

LFPark
Community Explorer

Yes! This would be so helpful for Elementary. We teach all subjects in elementary so we have A LOT of pages. When linking in the new RCE to "course links" it takes forever to get to the W's or anywhere in the middle of the alphabet. The ability to filter when linking, etc. would be AMAZING.

aheath3
Community Member

In courses, all courses would it be possible to have a search box up in the top left hand corner. When in All courses and the courses are displayed you have scroll through perhaps a hundred if your a developer for example.

It would be great, to have the search box on permanently (presently you only get this feature while pressing Ctrl key and F key)

It would be great

Many thanks

Adam 

Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni