[Theme Editor] Dark Theme/Dark Mode for Canvas

Hello all! I am a student, and I am here to suggest an idea that I thought would make Canvas more personalized. I think a dark theme would be great for Canvas since some students like to stay up at night (not me), and the bright white light from Canvas can hurt their eyes. The main reason why I want it is because it would look better on my computer. Youtube and Google have these options, why not Canvas? Thank you for reading!

Comments from Instructure

While we are not able to announce that this idea has been completed, it is important to celebrate that Dark Mode has been added to Canvas Student, Canvas Teacher, and Canvas Parent. (2022-07-05)

350 Comments
EricamaeHermosa
Community Novice

This feature will be great for students who have migraines, frequent headaches, and stimulation issues. Dark mode allows the eyes to rest and allows users to navigate through their courses and reading through written modules easier and more comfortable. 

KailynnHall
Community Member

I get constant migraines, especially when staring at screens all day. I've tried blue light glasses, turning the brightness down, noting helps. I know I'm not the first one to ask for this, but if a dark mode could be developed, that would be so helpful. Doing assignments at on a computer is hard enough. But then I have this white glare that is so headache-inducing. If this could be done I know myself and others would greatly appreciate it.

HeatherJaze
Community Novice

I suggest to have a version of the website that is easier on the eyes. Other websites call it "dark mode" and personally I use it on everything that provides it. 

rperez52
Community Member

Great idea!

clondono1
Community Member

As a student and an Instructional Designer, I have hoped for this feature for many years. At one point even turned to an extension to try to get some semblance of this option(not a great or even good option). Please bring this option to us. 

SoloPlanty